A New (York) Adventure

In 2010, I packed up my franglophone life and moved to New York City, where I currently work in the field of content creation, with an emphasis on highlighting talented culinary artisans and real food advocates. To read my most recent writing, visit http://www.carlydefilippo.com

carlydefilippo

At the end of August, I took an impromptu trip to Paris, Geneva and Franche-Comté. I couldn’t be more grateful for this francophile trip, and I’ve been eager to share my new finds – from a zany barbie artist in the Parisian puces, to an old-timey Besançon patisserie that serves up one hell of a chocolate/meringue bomb.

First things first? Paris.

EAT
Comme à Lisbonne: A tiny boutique specializing in Portugeuse pastels de nata. I first tried these flaky, flan-filled tarts in their hometown (Belem, Lisbon – near the breathtaking Jeronimos Monastery) and was delighted by the Parisian reproduction. Moreover, the accompanying espresso was top-notch, a true find in the notoriously coffee-challenged city of lights.

Chez Jeanette: A very hip, low-key bistro with impeccably fresh cuisine. The saumon en cocotte blew me away, and I also loved their just-rich-enough nutella tiramisu.

Neva: Neva may be in one of…

View original post 485 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

